Text Chat users’ status system
Status system overview
When you create a channel, you acquire operator privileges on it. Users with operator privileges can perform the following actions:
- Change channel settings.
- Grant and remove operator privileges for any user on the same channel.
- Remove any user from the channel.
- Set and remove ‘mute’ status for any user on the same channel who does not have operator privileges. A user with ‘mute’ status on a particular channel cannot send messages to that channel.
User status is indicated with an icon to the left of the user’s name in the users list:
|Normal user, not an operator and not muted|
|User with operator privileges|
|User is muted|
If some menu items are shown as disabled, this means either that you do not have the required rights or that you cannot perform that action on that user.
Operators can use the following commands:
Granting operator privileges
|To grant operator privileges to a user:|
You can also grant operator rights with the ‘/op <user name>’ text command,
Removing operator privileges
|To remove operator privileges from a user:|
You can also remove operator rights with the ‘/deop <user name>’ text command.
Setting ‘mute’ status
|To set ‘mute’ status for a user:|
You can also set ‘mute’ status with the ‘/mute <user name>’ text command.
Removing ‘mute’ status
|To remove ‘mute’ status from a user:|
You can also remove ‘mute’ status with the ‘/unmute <user name>’ text command.
Removing a user from the channel
|To remove a user from the channel:|